Growing…In More Ways Than One!

I recently shared that I’m pregnant, so I’m obviously growing a belly along with this baby growing inside me, but that’s not the type of growing I’m going to discuss today. I mean who really wants to read a post about a growing belly? I will however share images once I start brainstorming for decorating the nursery, because that’s always fun and going to be inspiring some new designs of my own 🙂

What I mean by growing…is learning. This year has been wonderful and challenging so far, and as I’ve stated before, this pregnancy has made it hard at times to be motivated. As much as I struggled with this at first, I’ve finally come to terms with myself that’s it’s perfectly ok to grow slowly, as long as I continue to grow. My baby is my number one priority, and being a high risk pregnancy that means being very careful to keep stress down and take care of myself. I’ve spent A LOT of time recently really evaluating my goals.

My main goal was getting picked up by a studio and getting my first licensing deal – which happened when I got accepted by A Fresh Bunch (AFB). Working with AFB is challenging – it’s a very different way of working from what I’m used to, so I’m doing my best to make the most of the experience. Going into this I thought all I wanted to do was art licensing because at first I didn’t like the idea of selling off my designs, but I’ve come to realize I can always create new ones 😉 It can take a while to start seeing money from licensing, and I think it will be a little easier to create a steady(ish) income from freelancing/selling outright. I was already planning to freelance (I’ve only done freelancing for graphic design, not surface pattern design/illustration), but now that’s my next move – to pick up freelancing jobs.

Besides figuring out my next moves to get into freelancing for surface pattern design, I’ve decided to refresh myself on all the info I learned last year by going back through all my course work and notes from each class. I’m considering another course or two before the baby comes because I know there won’t be any time for classes AND running my freelance business once the baby’s here!

My biggest decision currently, to walk Surtex or not to walk Surtex…I’m not sure, very mixed emotions, so we’ll see. Hopefully I didn’t bore you with today’s post – I know my posts have been very me, me, me and I hope to change that – at the same time, this has become my place to openly speak about my journey as I pursue this dream of mine and hopefully it will serve as inspiration to those who want to pursue their dreams but are scared to. I’m making progress and getting closer to my dream, even if it has taken me longer than I thought it would. I’m getting there and that’s what matters!

Dream On!

EJ

 

4 Comments on “Growing…In More Ways Than One!

  1. Eryn you are definitely inspiring me! I need a little courage to follow my surface pattern design dreams. And I really have to thank you for taking the time out to reply to all my questions and offer valuable feedback. Let us know what you decide to do with Surtex. Ash x

    • I’m so happy to hear Ash! And I’m more than happy to answer any questions I can to help you out along the way. Research all your options and then take what courses resonate with you – that’s my best advice 🙂

  2. Great post. I like that this is about you and your journey. I say keep it that way. It’s great that you are focusing on your goals and planning at the same time,while also prepping for the baby!

Leave a Reply

